My First Sewing Experience

Last summer, around July of 2013, I decided that it was time to learn how to use the machine that I had received as a Christmas gift in 2011. (I think… It may have sat unused for quite some time.)

My husband had purchased this sewing machine for me off of Craigslist. It was technically new, never opened, and still in original packaging. It was a basic sewing and mending machine, a Brother LS 2125i. At the time, it was precisely what I needed. Something with no bells and whistles, something that I could truly learn the basics on.  As for trying to learn how to sew on it, I just never really made the time. I was still focusing on getting my degree and just didn’t dedicate the time needed to working it out properly.

In May of 2013, my husband and I and our dogs had moved across the country. The dogs had a bit of a rough time adjusting to their new surroundings, showing their unease by thoroughly destroying several blankets and old comforters that had been thrown into their crates. After they seemed to calm down a bit, around July, I decided it was time. I was going to learn to sew and make them some new, comfy, custom fitting dog beds for those crates!

I hauled the machine out of its box, set it up an old sewing table that my mother-in-law had passed on to me, and put on my determination face. I pulled out the manual and got to work reading how I was even supposed to thread the machine. While this wasn’t my first experience ever with the sewing machine, it was the first one in a very long time. My wonderful mother in law had tried to show me once how to do it, and I am embarrassed to say I didn’t remember when I sat down during this session. I soon figured it out and got started practicing some straight lines on some clearance fabric I had bought when I had first got my machine.

I worked out some tension issues (or so I had thought) and when I felt comfortable with these straight lines, I fashioned up a simple, small, no frills pillow.

13571236313_9c6c646d2b_bThe pillow was filled using some of the stuffing from an older pillow the dogs had torn up. I just repurposed the stuffing in order to complete this one simple task. Sure, the pillow is a bit (ok, a lot) lumpy after a year and it’s probably not even actually rectangular, but it works and has purpose as a dog pillow, even after almost a year.

And that’s how it started. After this one pillow, it was all over. I had realized that I could actually create something, anything I liked in fact. And with this one little pillow and the desire to give my dogs some comfort in their crates, I was hooked. Sewing was going to be my new hobby.

 

This entry was posted in Misc. Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

