Oh Brother (LS2125i), Why hast thou forsaken me?

My current sewing machine, a Brother LS2125i, was a present from my husband in order for me to learn how to sew. Now this is a low-end machine, no doubt about it.

14252428356_c77b4fb164_bIt has ten stitches and is really meant to be for sewing and mending. It can be purchased from Wal-Mart, Target, and Amazon… pretty much any big box store basically.

I have put this machine to use, no denying it. I’ve made clothes, purses, pillows, dog beds, and quilts. I’ve pieced, quilted, and attached binding with this machine. I even attempted some embroidery. If there was a way to do something with it that I could figure out, I tried it.  So you can imagine that after almost a solid year of use it is seeing some wear and getting grumpy. While it always had some tension issues, this last quilt (approximately the tenth it has done) was it’s final straw. It has had enough. Tired and overused, misunderstood at times and moody, the machine is mostly done for.

I managed to get through FMQing one of my baby quilts that I posted on last time but my husband’s quilt was when it really broke down. The machine kept giving me more and more tension problems. Adjust, pick, adjust, start again…. Oh the nested threads on the back of his quilt made me want to cry!

14088951508_2183a7ecf2_bAbout half way through FMQing I decided that I should give it a quick cleaning out again (even though I had just done this right before I had started) to make sure that I hadn’t missed anything.When I put the front plate back on and re-threaded it, there was suddenly no more top tension at all, a major change from normally having to keep it so low.

14273543012_2ab599ec25_bI fiddled and re-threaded and twisted and took off the front plate again and watched as I fiddled and twisted the tension knob and to no avail, I couldn’t seem to get it to work. I finally just threatened to throw it into the trash and ban it from existence! And then it worked long enough to get down to one and a half squares left to quilt. Go figure, right?

So I went back to trying to fix it because at this point I just want to be done with this quilt. I FaceTimed my mother in law, showed my husband, and had another life threatening yell at my machine. A couple of hours later, it decided to shaped up again enough for me to finish the squares I was working on, and I decided that it was finally time to be replaced.

14275549175_9a977870c9_bRemember this is a ten stitch mending machine that is meant for simple household use. Not the 5-10+ hours a week I sew on it. I know we’ve gotten our money’s worth out of it, and I am glad that I had a simple, basic sewing machine to learn on. It afforded me the opportunity to try things out, let me explore what types of projects I like, allowed me to learn how to clean and maintain a machine, and didn’t set us back oodles of dollars.

Now I am off to try to find a replacement, a machine with a large throat space, a needle up/down button, and something that will hold up against more frequent use. Something that is intended to quilt on.

This entry was posted in Sewing Machines and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Brother (LS2125i), Why hast thou forsaken me?

  1. The first machine I owned had bad tension problems. I was often tempted to throw it through the window, but the window would have been even more expensive to replace! It got through one quilt and then I was done. I did find a pretty good but basic machine at Sears, at a good sale price. I’ve upgraded since then (several years ago) to a better one, but I keep the Kenmore as my back-up and travel machine. It really can do anything I need, but has fewer bells and whistles.

    Good luck finding one you’ll love!

    Like

    • Thank you for the encouragement! I would like to keep my old machine as a back up too, if I can manage to work out the tension issues. I will likely go back, set it up for a straight stitch and see if I can muster a little more life out of it. I have to admit, it has been a champ given the overuse it has seen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

