Doggy Bed, take two…

After the last fiasco with dog beds, I decided that while the dogs still needed beds, I was not going to buy foam filling this time. Instead, our little dog Jack inherited an old pillow that I was going to make a zip-able pillowcase for, and our other dog Kendall was getting an old comforter from the linen closet that I no longer needed. I re-washed the comforter first, as my lesson was learned and not forgotten.

As for Jack’s new pillowcase, this necessitated a trip back to JoAnn. Luckily I remembered to put the measurements in my purse for the new pillowcase and was able to snag some super cute dog themed fabric for the top of the case and a some really cheap stuff to go on bottom. I’m pretty sure the bottom fabric is some type of poly blend and it feels thin and cheap, but as it’s just for the bottom of a dog pillow, I wasn’t fretting over quality at this point. Especially not considering what had happened with the previous two beds I made.

This time around, I wanted the zipper to be mostly hidden so that my little dog couldn’t get his nails caught at all and I was hoping this would prolong the life of the case. I searched the internet for a hidden zipper tutorial, watched a few videos and read a few blogs to make sure I had it down and understood it ok and got to work. I actually didn’t have much trouble at all with installing the zipper.

I did, however, find that I was always having trouble with my sewing machine tension. I ended up calling my mother in law to see if she could give me some guidance. Everything I read and looked up said that you should probably be in the mid range for proper tension, although my machine was having all sorts of weird puckering and pretty much made me hate making this new case. While I did have some small nesting and tension issues the first few times I had used the machine, I had chalked this up to inexperience, and I thought that this was what was going on this time too. But after talking to my MIL, I played with a piece of scrap from the previous experience and realized that my machine has some seriously tight tension issues. The setting on it really needs to be low at somewhere in between 2 and 3 for it to work best.

IMG_0711The lighting isn’t well in this photo, but as you can see, my pup plopped on top of his pillow before I even had the case finished and curled up with his blanket and toy. I guess I was taking too long figuring out my tension issues! Once I did, my sewing went a bit smoother, and I finished the case without issue. The result is actually something that he still uses to this day, almost a year later. I am glad its held up pretty well, with lower quality fabric and many washings. Over all, I would count this project as a success.

12871542634_8b67532580_oI had also spent some time crocheting this little blue blanket shown in these pictures for his new pillow/bed. It matches pretty well and didn’t take me very long, only about a week. I did decide to add a little clam shell border even though he is a boy mostly because I had been wanting to expand my ability with crocheting. I thought this border would give me a slight challenge while still allowing me the opportunity to mess up or for it to not be perfect. I figured since he is a dog, he doesn’t mind if it is a little frilly or flawed.

IMG_0762

He absolutely loves sleeping under blankets and on top of any pillow he can find. He is such a spoiled dog. Why yes, that is him sitting on his bed in between our computers on top of our desk. Who has room for office supplies when I have an assistant like him?

This entry was posted in Misc. Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doggy Bed, take two…

  1. dog ball says:

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing
    without having side effect , people could take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

