Tote Bag

I’d mentioned in a previous post about dice bags that I did want to make a tote bag. I looked at several tutorials online for tote bags, and now I can not remember for the life of me which one I actually used. In all actuality, I probably used a combination of tutorials to come up with my final product, but I am pretty sure that I mostly used this one by Skip to my Lou.

I went to my JoAnn’s and picked out some home decor fabric that was grey and yellow. I kind of crush on this color combination and was happy to find some coordinating fabrics that were this duo.

14300695914_faf1b7985a_bI tried to stick with the tutorial mostly, but found that when it came to finishing the top stitching on the top of the bag, that I really wanted to try using my twin needle, so I made sure to dig out my instruction manual for my machine and thread it properly. Since I wasn’t actually using a second spool of thread, I wound a second bobbin and placed it on the secondary spool holder instead, and it turned out ok.

14297987431_9fa3c1b13a_b

When I made this, it was more of an exercise of making something useful as well as practicing skill building techniques, but I didn’t really think about the final dimension of the product and how that would affect it’s usefulness. Once my final product was finished, I realized that it was probably a bit smaller than I would have liked it to turn out, but it is still a fine size for a smaller trip to the farmer’s market or getting normal sized books at the library. 13520334145_3733382d95_b

There are definitely things I would do differently though.

  1. I would make the bag size just at tad bigger. Not much, just a little, and that’s just a personal preference thing.
  2. I would have added some interfacing to the straps to make them a little more sturdy, and quite possibly to the bag’s outer fabric to do the same.
  3. I would have chosen to use a plain cotton for the lining just for softness. Again, that’s just a personal preference thing but every time I stick my hand in there I wish it were so.
  4. Work on tension. The machine I have is pretty much at it’s life’s end, but I really wish I would have figured this out. I never feel like I really got the hang of it on my machine.

I did use a heavy-duty grey thread made by Clarks and Coats to try to give it a little more sturdiness against the hoped usage. I have to admit, I really don’t use this tote that much. I want to, I just don’t. I think had I done the four listed things above, I might use it more often, but that may just be a convoluted if/then statement.

14299408402_09539f61db_bA word on my fabric and supplies purchasing: as if you didn’t already notice a pattern here, everything I purchased when I first started sewing was from JoAnn’s. Don’t worry, you’ll eventually see me grow out of this limited view of fabric but back then, it’s all I really knew. I do still go there for an occasional purchase of batting, interfacing, or stabilizer. While I am there I may pick up some Kona cotton, but the store nearest me has a very limited selection of it.

14114827288_d0a3581906_b14114785399_ba60db50cd_b

 

 

 

 

 

I also do pick up the occasional calico print or their Quilter’s Showcase when it’s on sale (like this week), but I try not to allow too much of the lower quality fabrics into my stash. That isn’t to say never, just hardly ever. Here is a couple recent photos of my weakness for low prices and cute prints as proof!

I really do adore some of the prints, but the quality just doesn’t seem to hold up well to washing. I am making quilts now that may see some extended use and would hate for them to fall apart. Maybe I am just overly rough and hard on things, even though I do try to take care of them.  A total of nine half yard cuts for $12.17 after tax. (A solid orange bought for binding got left out of the pink stack picture.) Sometimes you just can’t resist that!

This entry was posted in Misc. Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

