Autumn Woods Fabric

My husband and I are using a quilt on our bed that his great uncle gave us for a wedding gift over five years ago. (Thanks Uncle Carl!) We am extremely happy to say that his eighty-three year old uncle is in pretty good health, very active, still drives, is extremely well-mannered and good-natured, and still so very spry. My husband and I love him to PIECES.

14449486783_4a4fa14b91_kAs for the quilt, this is the first one I can ever remember owning before learning to sew. I feel like I may have dishonored his gift because we have used it so much and worn it out so terribly bad. It’s literally coming apart at the seams. :}

14428183004_430830fdff_k 14449490833_73b783f189_k

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really have not taken care of it as I should have done. It has been washed wayyyyy too many times, mostly because our dogs sleep with us. It is a traditional churn dash scrap quilt, a bit too small for our bed, and honestly, I’m not terribly in love with the colors. We love the person that gave it to us, so we proudly display it as a badge of gratitude.

14242239688_62b68e02cd_k

14427528742_0c40a9fd2e_b

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been looking at making a new quilt for our bed, but decisions plague me. My husband and I have very different tastes, but we have managed to pick out fabric that can both agree upon (which is a small miracle).

14428839075_7f737eadd0_k 14242185189_1bde952d49_k

 

 

 

Before either one of us changed our minds, I ordered some half yard cuts of the Autumn Woods line by Kate and Birdie from Moda.

14405710646_4ec6d70472_k 14242186899_40c46b506a_k

 

 

 

 

I still need to pick up some background fabric, I’m waiting on one more of the prints and the solid persimmons for binding that is on it’s way, and oh yeah… I still need to decide on a pattern!

If you have any suggestions as to a pattern that would work well for this line and can be adapted for a queen size, please let me know! I would love to hear some suggestions, and the more options the better.

Linking up with Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

Molli Sparkles

 

This entry was posted in Fabric and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn Woods Fabric

  1. Belinda says:

    I love this line! Fabric envy!

    Like

  2. Jeifner says:

    I saw this line in the store and fell in love. It’s no wonder you both agree on it. Beautiful and graphic and soft at the same time. I wonder if Wombat Quilts pattern she just made up into a Jaffe? quilt would work.

    Like

  3. Becky says:

    About your comment that you “may have dishonored his gift” by using it way too much and wearing it out, that’s what quilts are for. So actually, you have respected the gift and the giver, as well as the quilter, by loving it enough to use it. Pass it down to one of your precious fur babies and get even more use out of it!

    Like

  4. I looked through some of your posts, and I think something not block based would be best. A stacked coin quilt would be nice., and you can vary the width of the coins.

    Like

Leave a Reply

