Brought to you by the letter J

This post is brought to you by the letter J. Sort of….

Screen Shot 2014-06-18 at 11.52.00 AM

I planned a crossword wall hanging for my husband’s grandparents to include all of the names in our family. After looking around, I decided to order some Potluck by American Jane of Moda. I liked that they had preprinted panels of alphabet letters that I could get and just piece those together in a charm square fashion rather than having to make each letter into a block. 

14266636348_6fbd38e7f5_k

Sounds good, right? Well, it would have been…. but I didn’t pay close enough attention to that PDF showing the prints of the fabrics.

14452115434_1df50b6e57_kFirstly, the letters were not in 3 “x 3″ squares, but rather 3′ x 2 7/8ish”. So no biggy, I just evened all my squares to be 2 7/8″. The PDF does state that the 3 x 3 square is approximate…

14430124206_de61956425_kSecondly, which is just terrible in my opinion, is that the letters printed onto the squares (even if they were exactly 3″ x 3″) do NOT all have a 1/4″ seam allowance. MOST of them do however, but the J’s are an instant exception. I just keep kicking myself in the behind for not looking at the PDF closer, especially since I needed three of the letter Js for my project. Because of this, it also necessitated the purchase of two of these panels because I wanted them all lower case to match each other. The PDF does in fact show how close the letters are to the edge of the lines.

This is a major case of buyer beware, especially when buying online. 

14453227595_105f8aef23_kThirdly, being a large company like Moda, who sells those cute little mini charm squares, I wish they would have sold them like that instead of panels. I understand that they can only offer so many products and they have to be feasible, etc. etc. but I feel like that would have been a good option worth exploring.

14451873382_6ca5b0235d_kBack to the issue at hand, my current WIP now has its top completed, although I am not sure what to do with it. I will finish it up, but should I give it to them? Am I going to be happy enough with the quality that I wouldn’t be too embarrassed of it? Would I want to be given a gift like this? Decisions…..

This entry was posted in WIPS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Brought to you by the letter J

  1. Mari says:

    I agree that it’s pretty crummy of Moda. Didn’t they realize people would cut them up and use them this way? However, your quilt is very charming. None of the letters line up and it looks intentional. I would add a couple of borders and finish it. They will love it, and the fabric struggles will be your little secret.

    Like

  2. Kim in AB says:

    I think they would be pleased to get a gift like this. It is from the heart. I also bought 2 fabric panels thinking I would cut the letters into squares only to find that it wouldn’t work. :-/

    Like

    • I’m sure you were also disappointed, but I am going to look at it as a good lesson in buying things online. Maybe Moda will make different ones later but hopefully be more diligent about sizing.

      Like

  3. Ilene says:

    Your husbands grandparents will love it of course you must give it to them. I would think anyone would be very happy to receive a gift like this it looks great. Only you and us other quilters know about the frustrations of working with printed fabrics that don’t quite measure up.Thank you for the tips about what to be mindful of when purchasing this type of fabric. Happy quilting.

    Like

  4. Becky says:

    As the mother of all of the “j” names in your fantastic wall hanging, it is beautiful and my in-laws will LOVE it! My mother-in-law couldn’t sew a button on if she had to so don’t even discuss your frustrations, she will think it’s perfect. I do! What a fabulous gift!

    Like

  5. carol fun says:

    You did a great job with this! I bought 2 panels of those letters and haven’t used them yet but looking at them shows me I’m going to have issues when I cut them. I don’t understand why a fabric company wouldn’t think about how these are going to be used…. it seems like you would know quilters are going to need seam alowances.

    Like

  6. Teri says:

    I’m sure the lettering issue was frustrating, even so the quilt looks fabulous. They will love it!

    Like

  7. I have this panel in BW, so as soon as I read your first paragraph, I was like “wha–? that’s not going to work – the letters are all uneven and not squared” : P But, that said, I do think the finish is cute. I like the uneven placement – it looks fun and family is fun and not identical and it feels joyful. I think the recipients (who probably don’t quilt? and will think it’s amazing because of that : ) will cherish it.

    Like

  8. I think it looks great! I made a similar one for my dad for his 70th birthday with all the family names on it but I used my quilting machine and quilted the letters of every name on plain white squares using a contrasting red thread. He absolutely LOVED it!!! Your husband’s grandparents will LOVE it too! Finish it and give it to them!

    Like

  9. Wendi says:

    I think it’s cute and would be a fun wall hanging.

    Like

  10. LoretteC says:

    It’s adorable and a great gift! Sorry to hear of your troubles with the fabric.

    Like

Leave a Reply

